Skip Navigation
Quicklinks
Texas Counties Deliver
Theft By Check is a Crime


There are two offenses in the Texas Penal Code which can be used in dealing with hot checks: Theft (P.C.31.03) and Theft of Service (P.C.31.04).  These offenses range from Class C Misdemeanor to Felony of the First Degree, depending on the amount of the check.

(1)    Class C Misdemeanor: if the value of the check is less than $20.00; punishable by a fine not to exceed $500.00

(2)    Class B Misdemeanor: If the value of the check is $20.00 or more but less than $500.00; punishable by a fine not to exceed $2,000.00 or 180 days in jail or both.

(3)    Class A Misdemeanor: If the value of the check is $500.00 or more but less than $1,500.00; punishable by a fine not to exceed $4,000.00 or 1 year in jail or both.

(4)    Felony of the First Degree: All check that exceed $1,500.00; these cases are referred to the District Attorney’s Office.

 

Return to County Attorney Main Hot Check Page

Copyright © {{YEAR}} {{COUNTY}} {{STATE}}

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM